My Japanese mom and what she thinks about entrepreneurship

So I recently sold my first few decks of TrekDek Playing Cards (yay!) and naturally told my parents about it. My mom, always sending me random things in the mail, sends me a congratulatory card.

The Card. Cute right?

So I open it up, and there’s a nice, grammatically incorrect note.

Awwww

And then I open the rest of the mail to find…

The classifieds! There was a note attached that said "Just in case."

Oh Mom…

Cheers,

Dale

10 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shenny on May 18, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Your mom is awesome! Lol.

    Reply

  2. LOLOL!! My mom would leave article clippings about jobs around and sign me up for “exploratory internships” after I gradded from school and started my company. But she was behind me 100%…I think haha. Good luck with the hustle, Dale!

    Reply

    • Thanks Evan! Maybe once I make a million bucks she’ll be confident enough to stop suggesting I go to grad school or get a job.

      Cheers,

      Dale

      Reply

  3. After months of getting freelance gigs here and there, gaining some momentum, and suddenly realizing I’m on the verge of really making this happen, I get contacted through LinkedIn about a job opportunity. A management position with a fast-growing company in downtown Boston. I’m in the process of interviewing.

    My mother is far more excited about the job interview than my fledgling consultancy.

    Parents are wonderful, because if nothing else they remind us that if our businesses aren’t successful we should probably get a job.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Matthieu on May 18, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I didn’t know you sold your first decks! that’s pretty cool! Congratulations!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Your crochety Aunt Lisa on May 19, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Congrats, Dale! (and THANK GOD.. LOL)
    I LOVE your Mom’s random cards.
    Talk about someone who should start a business – your Mom!
    She can create a custom “haiku” – like card line!

    Reply

Leave a comment