From Koshari to Pad Thai to Chips and Salsa

A week before Mubarak resigned, Erica and I decided to go to Thailand to wait out the revolution and see if we wanted to go back to Cairo. Though feeling a little guilty about taking a vacation while Egyptians anxiously waited for a yet undecided political future, we figured we weren’t really contributing much to the cause while being there.

Though it was a tough decision, we decided to not return to Cairo. It actually had very little to do with the revolution in the end. It was the thought of returning to our jobs. The thought of getting crap about coffee drinking and dealing with general incompetence motivated me to buy my plane ticket to Vancouver Island (yes, in Canada) where I am currently eating chips and salsa.

Its a little weird being back. I’m not going through the complete reverse culture shock experience. The main things I’m noticing is the communication barrier is completely gone and I can cross the street with ease. Weird.

I wish Egypt the best of luck in its democratic transition. WIll be following up with some pictures from Thailand and theories about my near future.

Cheers,

Dale

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Martha on February 22, 2011 at 2:26 am

    I came across your blog while researching my impending move to Cairo in the next few weeks and as I read realized…my god you know my Shalashes! I student taught with Dina and stayed in the Heliopolis apt for a few wks with Dina and Sarah in July! I was planning on moving to Cairo to teach this fall but apparently there are some recent openings (yours I assume…) at Nefertari! Small small world. Wondering why you decided to leave and whether you think I am crazy to go there now…

    -martha

    Reply

    • Hey Martha!

      This is a small world. Funny that you should come across my blog. Yes, I worked with Sarah at Nefertari. I decided to leave because teaching isn’t something I really plan on continuing in the future and the administration at the school sort of drives me crazy . They seem to pick the least effective and efficient way to get things done. The students are ok. They will just be a pain in the butt for like 90% of the time. I imagine some of my troubles come from a lack of teaching experience so take my opinions with a grain of salt. Anyway good luck in Cairo and I look forward to hearing what you think of it.

      -Dale

      Reply

Leave a Reply

