Christmukkah and the holiday season Cairo style

This was my first Christmas away from home and I have to say, it was a lot of fun. Though it wasn’t a substitute for a Lexington Christmas, the Cairo Christmas and New Years experience isn’t something to shy away from. I’ll recap some of the events of the holiday season.

Christmukkah :

The thing I remember being most excited about when I was younger was the pile of Christmas presents from Santa waiting under the tree. As I got older, this became less and less important. However, when I went to make my coffee, I found a file folder with a bow tied on leaning on the coffee maker. Was it a batch of essays I forgot to grade? Fortunately for me, that was not the case.

Erica, in all her thoughtfulness, harnessed the power of Facebook to get me an awesome gift. She sent out a Facebook invite to various friends from our travels to write stories for Trekdek when it launches! I was touched that so many people contributed to this gift. I’m very excited to get these posted when Trekdek launches. Thank you to all the people who wrote stories and thank you Erica!

The rest of the day was dedicated to the Hanukkah portion of Christmas. Erica and I went to see the movie, “The Tourist,” which I give a B. Mildly entertaining. We later met our friends Theo, Fronnie, and Randall for a traditional Korean dinner. Delicious.

Touristy things with GW friends:

A few days after Christmas, a bunch of Sarah’s old roommates from college showed up unexpectedly (not really, they were planning this for a while). They were part of the first wave of people to stay at our apartment. Sarah’s sister was getting married and some of her friends came for the wedding. These friends, of course, stayed with us. At any given point in time over the week, there were 10 people staying with us. Crowded, crazy, and awesome. I have to give a shout out to our plumbing system for being a champ during this whole process: good work toilets.

There is one thing every tourist needs to see when visiting Cairo: Egypt’s oldest apartments for the dead, the pyramids. Having guests visiting from the states was the catalyst that got me off my butt and head to Giza to see one of the great wonders of the world. I will let the pictures do the talking.

The Great Pyramid + Erica + Dale

This camel was named "Dennis the Menace"

Sphinx and Pyramids

New Year’s Party

There’s something very fitting about celebrating the New Years in a place where one of the oldest civilizations in the world existed. We decided the best way to celebrate this profound event was to hold an alcohol fueled house party. The highlight of this night involved a game called “dunkaroos” where you have your head held underwater for as long as you take it take, tap out, and then chug a beer. It is hilarious, fun, and messy.

Read and GW Girls

Dunkaroo

Sven

 

Dina and Ahmed’s Wedding

I am on a roll with weddings. Sarah’s sister Dina got married here in Cairo on New Year’s Day. I think they primarily set this date so that their anniversary would be easy to remember. We were lucky enough to be invited. Again, I will let the pictures do the talking. Congratulations Dina and Ahmed!

Dina and Ahmed

First dance

 

So that about wraps it up. Good luck to everyone and your New Year’s resolutions.

Cheers,

Dale

One response to this post.

  1. How exciting this all sounds! Happy New Year to you, Dale!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

