First impressions of Cairo

So since I started this blog about a month after I arrived in Cairo, this will not be the most up to date post. I wrote it soon after I got here though so it’s like new. Enjoy and let me know what you think.

First Impressions

I went from this (San Diego)...

...to this (Cairo, not San Diego).

After being laid off by the Navy, depression ensued for a short while. This can be attributed to two reasons: a) the military, the organization renowned for being a bastion of job security, fired me and b) I became your clichéd 20-something lost soul. Bummer.

As any good lost soul would do, I decided to flee the country. Ok, flee is not exactly the right word for it. I managed to get myself a job in said country , spend my last few months in the Navy in beautiful San Diego with my girlfriend and some great friends, and take a nice road trip up to Portland, Oregon (Route 1 is the way to go). All in all, I consider myself pretty lucky.

Ok so some advice if you ever make it out here:

1.       When in a car, do not stick your hand out the window. There are no such things as lanes here and you will be driving 50 miles an hour with another car literally 6 inches away from you.

2.       Moisture wicking clothing is a must. Five minutes outside will have you drenched in sweat.

3.       Enjoy the camraderie. When I was in a cab around sunset during Ramadan, groups of people from the mosque would stand in the street handing out bags of dates to the cab drivers so that they could break their fast while working. My cab driver kindly shared his dates with us (they were delicious by the way). I have to admit I was a little touched by that act of kindness. I guess it’s ok to take candy from strangers here.

4.       Redefine your understanding of bureaucratic inertia. Remember the DMV? Well, imagine that for anything involving any sort of paperwork here. Patience is not just a virtue, it’s a requirement.

5.       Eat street food. Mmmm….schwarma.

Welcome to Egypt.

Cheers,

Dale

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda on September 18, 2010 at 1:46 am

    Love it, Dale! Keep the posts coming!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Craig on September 18, 2010 at 2:36 am

    Hey – how much are Shwarma’s there? When I was in Saudi they were about 75 cents. I think the government there controlled the price. In Kuwait they weren’t as good though – they sometimes used hot dog buns.

    -CWD

    Reply

    • Shwarma’s range from about a buck to 2 bucks depending on the place. not a bad deal. Tamaya (falaffel) sandwiches are a better deal, about 25 cents for one.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Diane on September 18, 2010 at 4:41 am

    See you in Juneish… bring something back for me. How’s trekdek?

    Reply

    • We’ll see, i’m thinking a beach hut in Thailand for a while.

      Reply

      • Posted by Diane on September 19, 2010 at 3:05 am

        Dale.. Dale.. Dale.. you know that’s not going to happen. You’re going to come hang out with Adrian, he’ll be a toddler. He’ll be able to use your iPhone and iPad instead of eating them. He’ll beat you at ninja vegetables.

Leave a Reply

